Logo Wagenborg

Wagenborg Passagiersdiensten (WPD) expands fast ferry timetable on the route Lauwersoog-Schiermonnikoog (Press release)

6 November 2020

Starting from 1 January 2021, WPD will expand the existing timetable for the Fast Ferry to and from Schiermonnikoog on working days, offering additional sailings in the mornings. In addition to these sailings, the shipping company is testing the interest in another four extra daily sailings from Monday 9 November 2020 until the end of the year.

Since July 2019, MS Esonborg has been in service as a Fast Ferry to and from Schiermonnikoog and Esonstad. We soon saw the demand for more sailings throughout the day go up. For that reason, WPD will be starting a pilot with a more extensive timetable from Monday 9 November. Till the end of 2020 MS Esonborg will have six extra sailings in total: departing Lauwersoog at 07.00 (Mo-Fr), 11.30 and 15.30 hours and departing Schiermonnikoog at 07.30 (Mo-Fr), 12.00 and 17.00 hours.

Director Ger van Langen hopes that these extra sailings will meet the demands of travellers: “We see that especially people who travel for work and study would like more departures. This temporary expansion of our timetable also allows more flexibility for islanders who want to go to the mainland for the day. This gives them more choice.”

WPD  wants to use this pilot to find out which departure times are most popular and profitable. “We look forward to seeing the results of the pilot. I hope that we will be able to continue this expanded timetable after the pilot,” Ger van Langen concludes.

The capacity and ticket prices will remain the same during the 2020 pilot: each sailing has room for a maximum of 48 passengers, and a surcharge of €7.50 on top of the price of a regular ferry ticket applies.

Timetable fast ferry service Lauwersoog-Schiermonnikoog

(from 9 November upto and including 31 December 2020):
Monday to Friday: 7:00, 11:30, 15:30 and 16:30 hrs
Saturdays, Sundays and public holidays: 11:30, 15:30 and 16:30 hrs

Monday to Friday: 7:30, 12:00, 16:00 and 17:00 hrs
Saturdays, Sundays and public holidays: 12:00, 16:00 and 17:00 hrs